Wild Dancing Thanksgivng Turkey Can I do this? - Single Parents Forum: Single Family Voices
All forums, topics and discussions are geared to single parents and the issues faced with single parenting.
Support a single parent today and one will support you back!

Go Back   Single Parents Forum: Single Family Voices >
(``'·.¸(``'·.¸ Single Parenting - Issues ¸.·'´´)¸.·'´´)
> Stay @ Home Single Parents

~ Donate Today ~ PLEASE

Old 10-15-2007, 05:32 PM   #1
aerialsilks
I am New

aerialsilks is an unknown quantity at this point

Hi guys! I'm new to the site. I'm expecting my first child in February. I'm trying to figure out if I can be a stay at home/ mostly stay at home single mom.
I don't have a lot of money. I'm a massage therapist, so I make my own hours. And I don't need to work forty hours in a week to make ends meet. I just have to make sure that I keep booking clients.
I live at home right now, but my parents want me to get a "real" job and put my son in daycare. They want me to move out.
I went to school for massage therapy. To me, this IS my real job. And soon my job will be to raise a healthy, happy little boy. I'm conflicted. I don't want to put him in daycare. It's expensive, and I'd much rather be his caretaker during the day. But I think my parents will see me as a bad mother if I don't go out and get a full time job.
I feel like my baby needs me most when he's very small, and as he gets bigger, I can go back to work more.
So I guess my question is how do I do this? And how do I do this if I have to move out of the house?
aerialsilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 02:03 AM   #2
Jen Hawaii
Parent on Board

Jen Hawaii is an unknown quantity at this point

WOW!
I do not have an answer for you. All I can say is that you should not let someon else dictate to you how to raise your child. Your at home with those that want to dictate so that makes it a bit hard.